Category: Uncategorised
Hits: 4715

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

By Fred Reese

The Colorado Springs Flames Football Club celebrates its 25th year as a sports organization in the city of Colorado Springs. The Flames were established in 1987 by Robert (Bob) Harrelson as the Colorado Springs Olympians. In 1988 they joined the Colorado Football Conference (CFC); a football club organization who showcased local teams such as the Air Force Academy Prep School and the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs. Legal issues concerning the team’s original name, Olympians, as being associated with the U.S. Olympic Center, also located in  Colorado Springs, resulted in the name change to the Flames.

What makes this organization so unique is that player participation is based on a system of no pay. Players actually pay the organization to play. This is an act which demonstrates a commitment and love for the game of football. During its twenty-four years as a member of the CFC, the Flames has won eight conference championships and participated in another eight. They have also won four Minor League Football bowl games and have been nationally ranked during several seasons.

During its existence, the organization and its players has participated in numerous community service activities and events such as food drives for local food banks and local Relay For Life cancer walks. The Flames organization is proud to be one of the nations longest continuously operating Minor League Football organizations.

Seasonal play for the 2012 season will begin the first Saturday of May as the CFC plays a Spring/Summer season. Try outs for this year’s team begins March 3, 2012, 3pm at Cheyenne Mountain H.S.  For further information you may go to the organization’s website at